Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Big businesses often have large budgets for advertising, which leads people to buy their products. This situation happens because the products have already been well-recognized by consumers, whereas local manufacturers appear not to have sufficient funds for promotion; therefore, to increase the number of buyers of local products, the governments can provide monetary aid for the local manufacturers. Product knowledge is essential for expanding a business. A large company can attract more consumers since the vast majority of people already know about their products. However, most of the small companies cannot afford to do advertisements to promote their products, which makes their goods not well-known to the targeted buyers. For instance, people prefer to buy a big brand of detergent, such as Downy, rather than locally produced detergent because they know Downy better from the advertisement that they saw. Some measures can be taken to encourage consumers to purchase local goods. To begin with, the governments can provide monetary assistance or some investments in domestic businesses. By having budget support, they can afford to do some campaigns to increase consumers ’ awareness of their products and attract them to test them. Secondly, local businesses can use the funds to improve the quality of their products. For example, they can enhance products ’ packaging or invest in more advanced machinery. These improvements can attract consumers since most people prefer to purchase good quality items. In conclusion, local businesses struggle to fund their advertisements and promotions because they are short on budgets. By providing government aid, they can boost consumers ' awareness of their goods and also enhance the goods’ quality; hence, prospective consumers are encouraged to try their products.