At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of the situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations around the world, young people represent large proportion of the population relative to elderly people. This essay will argue that the benefits of youthful population offset the drawbacks entailed by this state of affairs, as a country a greater number of young people are better able to grow its economy and care for its elderly citizens. One commonly cited disadvantages of a young population is that it places a greater strain on a public services. This is because larger numbers of young people require more facilities to be built to accommodate them. For example, the government may need to invest more in the school system, which requires additional public spending. Despite this, there are a number of significant benefits to having a youghful population. First of all, having young people creates a bigger market for goods and services. This helps to boost the country’s economy because, as young people get older, they purchase essential consumer items such as houses, furniture and electrical goods. Furthermore, a large youthful demographic also has social benefits, as young people are able to provide care and support to their elderly parents and relatives. In contrast, young countries such as Japan face challenges in looking after their ageing population. In conclusion, although there are drawbacks to having a youthful population, it is clear that young people can make a significant contribution to their country by developing the economy and providing support to older generations. On balance, I would argue that having a large number of young people is beneficial to any country.