With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be oppened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Especially during the last century, the quick growth in the use of oil and gas as energy resources, has leaded to a worldwide increase in these both. As a consequence, unexplored parts of the earth want to be researched in order to try to find out more energy resources. However, in my opinion, I disagree with the idea of open up more zones just to find more sources of energy, as I believe it would mean a complete damage to the environment. Firstly, one of the main problems with doing this type of research is the huge damage that is produced to land around. Most of the energy resources we know and we use in our daily lives, such as fuel, oil or gas, are dug out from the deepest parts of the earth's layers, so in addition, huge drills are made in the surface of the unexplored zones in order to extract them. Due to these aggressive procedures, the land surrounding the area is devastated and many of the plants, animals and any kind of living life that used to be there, disappears. On the other hand, not only the zone explored is destroyed, but also the global environment is damaged. If more areas that have been never explored were started to be devastated, more oil and gas would be taken out of them, and as a result, these would be used by even more people, which would mean more pollution. On the opposite, I believe that instead of trying to find more oil and gas, another kind of power source, such as solar energy, should be used so this environmental impact would be reduced. In conclusion, I think that the opening of more land to find and dig out more oil and gas shouldn't be allowed and renewable energies should be the next oil and gas of the world.