Since traveling abroad became relatively inexpensive, more countries have opened their doors for foreign tourists. Is it a positive or negative trend? Discuss.

In our modern world, the need for overseas tourism has become much more prevalent due to reasonable price. In response, there is a growing trend of countries’ opening their boarders for foreigners. Although this trend certainly has its own benefits, I feel that there will be much more drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. There are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial for authorities to welcome visitors from around the world to their homelands. According to some statistics, the profits coming from tourism account for a huge proportion of the local economies. Billions of dollars per years can be invested in building hospitals, organizing state-funded schools and other social welfare in order to better citizens’ living standards. Furthermore, traveling abroad brings about knowledge and experiences, broadens our horizons which creates a more judgment-free and loving world for human beings. At the same time, it also enhances mutual culture respect between countries and strengthens international relations. However, I agree with those who argue that there should be limitations on opening doors for foreign tourists. First of all, mass tourism can be a serious risk to national environment and ecology. Without making sustainable developing plans, the hotter a spot is, the greater it will be commercially exploited to the extent that the next generations may never see that attraction in its pristine form. Secondly, the vacation industry is an effective and strong tool for culture invasion. There is a good chance that the original background of a country might slowly fade as the natives are heavily influenced by other regions’ cultures and sometimes opposing their mother tongue ones. For example, when it comes to a place that is supposed to enhance Vietnamese patterns like Hoi An Ancient Town, the number of only- for-the-West zones is nearly equal to traditional places. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for the governments’ promoting overseas tourism, I personally prefer the current system in which our environment and cultures are preserved. It is highly recommend that every legal acts should be taken into consideration in order to balance between the pros and cons of this trend.