Today social skills are being more and more emphasized by employers. Some people believe that social skills are important besides good qualifications for their job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Being an employee is focused on not only hard skills but also on social skills these days. Some say that social skills are essential for job accomplishment,excluding hard skills such as coding, programming, writing, and so on. In my opinion, I have a balanced opinion on this issue,to be successful in any job position inevitably requires the two. First of all, I agree that having interpersonal skills,which means relationship management, conflict resolution, and communication, could encourage success in any career path. For example, a manager working in an international company needs to productively communicate with overseas clients including the efficiency of internal communication with a second or third language. On the other hand, being an officer or administrator taking care of plenty of routine work might not demand social skills that much as most responsibilities interact with operation systems. Another supportive point is that having fewer hard skills with more interpersonal experience might be considerably more advantageous rather than having hard skills. For instance, my ex-boss,who was a manager of the product and marketing team, with more than 20 years of experience in the product distribution field, was promoted to a further position faster compared to another who had fewer social skills with a number of hard skills. Regarding another opposite thought, having only soft skills could not completely encourage one' working success as growing up in a higher level role. To exemplify, most job descriptions always require at least basically productive hard skills, such as coding for being a programmer, and basic drawing for architecture, including future advancement in those job careers. To conclude, I believe that the best way forward is to be good at both the two skills. Being good at hard and social skills in tandem might facilitate career improvement in the future.