Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that advertisements play an integral part in our daily life. In my opinion, this development brings both advantages and disadvantages to people and society as a whole. On the one hand, advertisements might negatively affect people and the society in numerous ways. As for individuals, their choice of products might be manipulated if they heavily rely on commercials. Since advertisers focus on selling a brand image, they use glamorous and successful people. This may carry a misleading story that purchasing a product will make them happier, leading to unnecessary purchases of products that might not be as effective as they look. For example, marketing companies usually bombard people by giving goody bags and sending junk mail in order to catch consumers' attention. On the societal level, the general quality of the products would be decreased as advertisements might encourage the sale of inferior products. Every manufacturer projects his products as superior one in the advertisement. However, whether these products are really qualified or not may be almost unknown. Regardless of some above-mentioned advantages, advertising is an amazing form of communication that meets the need of both audiences and businesses. From the perspective of individuals, commercials may keep people well-informed about newly-launched products. Therefore, they will have more choices to make about which product is the best for them. Moreover, thanks to the introduction of a variety of advertisements in different forms, mass production of goods are encouraged, which results in large scale production. As a result, customers an buy product at a low cost. From the perspective of salesmen, advertisements promote an increase in sales since goods are marketed by the method of mass persuasion through advertising. In conclusion, individuals and organisations may gain both considerable benefits and drawbacks via the growing prevalence of advertisements.