Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is a growing trend among people where they prefer to endeavour for themselves rather than working for someone else. Today, a dramatic rise is seen in entrepreneurship and people have started recognizing the benefits of being your own boss. This essay will talk about why people prefer self-employment rather than working in a company. Some protagonist believes that working from the comfort of home renders the opportunity to spend time with family. With your personal space, one can be less stressed and can achieve better mental health. For instance, as per the report of Mental Health and Disorder Department of India, people who have a business of their own were found be more satisfied in their life as compared to people who worked in an organization However, everyone is aware of the potential repercussions of being a freelancer, but still a huge craze is seen among people. Therefore, people want to do something constructive which could provide growth as well as stability in life. Moreover, ambitious people are not content with regular jobs rather they want to live an exciting life. The idea of owning a company is a great motivator for people to quit their work, they get fascinated by the amount of money and fame one can have. Also, the new generation is not afraid of taking risks: in the 2017 survey, more than 23% of university graduates preferred to start a business rather than working for someone else. They considered that the growth of an entrepreneur is more than an employee. Therefore, people are ready to face uncertainty to achieve success in life. However, some people opine that there is uncertainty in a self-owned business which could collapse on any day. Humans want job security and regular pay so that they can feed their family. There is always a risk associated with entrepreneurship, which is a realistic threat. Thus, there is always a doubt in people's mind about being the boss of your own. Despite of this, a surge is seen in count of people moving towards opening business. To conclude, there are differences in people's opinion on self-employment, some consider it as beneficial while others prefer work given by someone else as more reliable and stable. The pros and cons of freelancing are always debatable, but it has come as a matter of fact that more people are moving towards self-employment.