While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Although some individuals are of the opinion that offenders would be reprimanded in prisons, others think that more effective ways are available to correct them. In my opinion, I believe that involvement in community service, and rehabilitation are better ways to deal with prisoners. On the one hand, supporters of the view that prisons are more appropriate believe so because of the presence of other criminals. In other words, learning from sanctions meted out to other offenders will serve as a deterrent towards committing other crimes. For example, an offender who witnesses the execution of a fellow inmate will learn to avoid crimes or violence if ever released from prison. Furthermore, they also believe that it serves as a means of protecting the society from these criminals. This means that victims will be less terrified when offenders are placed in prisons. However, I am of the opinion that more beneficial ways exist to aid correction of an offender. Firstly, many criminals can be subjected to community service where they are made to contribute greatly to the development of a community through activities such as cleaning, gardening, helping out in nursing homes etc. As a result, they are able to recognise their usefulness to the society. In addition, some can be sent to rehabilitation centres where they are made to learn and recognise the effects of crimes committed, and how to live a better life before re-integration into the society. In conclusion, I consider involvement in community activities and rehabilitation better ways to deal with criminals.