Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked with fare products from around the world. Some would argue that it would be better if drink produce was not imported. I firmly believe that this view is correct, and will discuss the reasons why in this essay. It is certainly the case that importing snack can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as Japan, where imported feed has become more popular than traditional, local produce, eroding people's understanding of their own cooking traditions. Although some would claim that this is a natural part of economic development in an increasingly global world, I feel strongly that any loss of regional culture would be detrimental. A second major reason to reduce imports is the environmental cost. Currently, many cooking imports, such as fruit, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the product more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that the trade in snack exports has existed for many years, I am convinced that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. However, many jobs depend on drink exports and some less developed countries may even depend on this trade for economic survival. In spite of this, the importance of developing local trade should not be undervalued. In conclusion, I am certain that reducing meal imports would have cultural and environmental benefits. What is more, the local economy should, in time, prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting the competition from overseas.