Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that governments have no duty to help senior citizens because that is their own responsibility. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the idea that taking care of the elderly is not the affair of state. Firstly, pensioner does not have the ability to live by themselves. Because of the old age, they are vulnerable, thus, a number of diseases are inevitable. For example, in England, nearly a quarter of the quantity of the elderly suffer from more than 2 aging-associated diseases such as cancer, diabetes, or Alzheimer's disease. Consequently, the senior citizens need not only the money, but also the state's help to deal with these chronic conditions. Secondly, a large figure of elderly people does not have the opportunities to support for their retirement. Due to the poor circumstance in the past, incalculable sum of people could not access to the standard living condition, education when they were adolescents. Hence, being an adult with no knowledge was extremely difficult for them to acquire for a job. As a result, an enormous total of old people became a burden or homeless and money was a luxurious thing that they cannot achieve. Moreover, being street people means they are easily infected with many diseases and they do not have enough budget afford to cure these sort of conditions. In conclusion, a lot of elderly people are not able to take care of themselves, therefore, I believe that the state should support them with the medical care and financial support.