Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

These days gap year between school and university has been increasingly taking a grip in many countries. However, it has a lot of benefits such as work experience and having knowledge about a new language and culture, it has to confront with negatives like losing interest and poor utilization of money. An argument in favour of taking a year off than continuing tertiary education is it offers valuable work experience. Many students do a part-time or full-time job in order to earn money so that they can persist their further studies. Consequently, not only do such initiatives give good work experience, but also added in their curriculum vitae. Knowing the new culture and language is another imperative aspect of travelling overseas. Most students generally prefer to travel abroad for a short period of time before entering into university as it provides them with a chance to interpret new tradition and language, which is undeniably fruitful in future career prospects by being bilingual aspirants. There are many drawbacks of having a year off. The majority of youngsters have inclined to lose their interest since the significant purpose of the tertiary study is getting a well-paid job to satisfy their basic needs. However, accumulating funds while part-time job makes them able to fulfil their demands. As a result, they quit their studies. Moreover, such funds make them enable them to use in bad activities such as gambling, drinks and drugs. For example, a recent poll by the UK government reveals that 60% of total students who are independent got addicted to bad influences. In conclusion, although students get indispensable work experience by taking a year off between school and university education, it has also dealt with losing interest and addiction to bad habits.