Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than complete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some modern education methodologies, it is fiercely supported that children must be encouraged to be competitive individuals rather than cooperative team players. But is this idea prudent enough to make us build our education system on that basis? Many people argue that to be successful in today’s highly competitive world, individuals should have the skills which can grant a competitive advantage to differentiate themselves from the masses. Admittedly, this idea is mostly true for the entrepreneurs who must have the determination and skills to pursue and realise their dreams. Further, in sectors such as; advertising and marketing, the specialists generally need to put the welfare of their company in front of the masses’ therefore choosing competitiveness and individualism over the good of all. However, co-operative people are required to make any organization to thrive. Cross-analysing the ideas stated in the previous paragraph, it must be remembered that only 10% – 20% of the entrepreneurs can pursue their ideas for success and in many departments of organizations co-operation is paramount. Also, if very dire situations, such as acts of war, will be taken into consideration, it can easily be understood that, only a handful of leaders are needed, opposed to a great number of co-operative team-players. In conclusion, even though our children should have enough sense of competition to better themselves, they need to be encouraged more to cooperate in order to be more beneficial to society and to achieve greater accomplishments. After all, two hands can always make more noise than one hand.