Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the young generations spend lots of their time playing video games and watching TV. Some individuals believe that this trend will have a negative impact on children ’s mental health. I agree with this statement to some extent, in my point of view spending time in front of the screen has some drawbacks on children ’s mental health and their physical health as well. The harmful mental effects of watching TV and playing video games cannot be underestimated. Firstly, children experience immense stress and tension due to violent scenes in the movies. They have to deal with great anxiety when they watch killings or assaults on television. These kinds of stress would decrease their IQ and might reduce their efficiency in their study. Secondly, the films and games convey a fake image of life to the children. They are not able to distinguish between reality and virtuality and these senses lead them to isolation and depression. As a result, they refuse to make friends and communicate with other people, and they just prefer to be alone. The majority of youngsters suffer from several physical problems such as obesity and spin disorder. To begin with, children who spend hours without burning any calories become overweight. Eating great amounts of unhealthy snacks, high in saturated fat and sugar, while watching an animation leads them to gain weight. As a result, the children will become obese and will face plenty of severe health conditions such as heart disease and cholesterol. Moreover, ‘’sitting disease’’ caused by long hours of sitting in terrible positions on the couch or chairs playing games leads to severe spin disorders. Children experience backache and neckache before becoming teenagers because of their sedentary lifestyle. A recent study found that the number of children under 10 who visit orthopaedic doctors is increasing significantly. In conclusion, in my opinion, the excessive time that children spend on electronic devices such as television and PS5 has destructive effect not only on their mental health, but also on their physical health.