Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of how making our roads safer. Some people believe that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents, while others think that other measures would be more effective for reducing traffic accidents. In my view, both punishments and a range of other measures can be used together to promote better driving habits. On the one hand, it is undeniable that severe punishments have some positive effects on improving road safety. First of all, they can surely influence commuters’ behaviour. When strict traffic laws are imposed, drivers would need to control their private vehicles more carefully to avoid being punished. For example, if people were charged 1000 dollars or even had to go to prison for only exceeding the speed limit, they would become more disciplined and alert, and follow the rules more carefully. Therefore, a high level of fine can greatly contribute to the national budget. Receiving a significant amount of money paid by driving offenders, the government can invest more on improving infrastructure, which is necessary for ensuring traffic safety. On the other hand, another measure like improving the education training for new drivers, or analysing the records of previous traffic accidents then find problems in the entire traffic system and fix it will have a better effect. Firstly, it is vitally important to educate people properly before they start to drive, and this could be done in schools. Drivers license must be issued when the person can pass the driving test in addition to a patience test. The test of driver patience will also driver ensure that the driver maintains calmness in critical conditions. Furthermore, another solution to this issue is to invest more in road reconstruction and provide extensive warning signs on high-risk routes. Because bad geographical conditions are dangerous as well, accidents happen almost every day on narrow rocky roads in the mountainous areas, not to mention occasional landslide. In conclusion, punishing reckless drivers can be effective, but only solves part of the problem. To thoroughly ensure road safety, different approaches should be taken in different situations.