In many countries today increasing number of people study at university. Students, who will probably earn higher than average salaries after graduating, should pay for their own higher education, rather than state. What are your views?

Nowadays the number of students who enroll register formally as a participant or member enrol in universities is the highest it has ever been and continues to grow. Plenty of countries subsidize the tuition fees regardless of the course one is willing to take. However, some people believe that those who will arguably earn above average after graduating should pay for the education themselves. I disagree with that notion as it would negatively affect the economy if implemented. First of all, the money that the state spends on higher education in an investment. They expect it to pay off by providing the market with highly-skilled professionals who would contribute to the economy. More often than not, those workers earn a six-figure salary, therefore striping them off of the funding and directing it to professions with lower priority can be considered a futile investment. In fact, the number of positions for these occupations funded by the government in Russian universities has been steadily declining for years. Secondly, I am certain that many people wishing to enroll register formally as a participant or member enrol in universities would be discouraged to do so were they to pay the fees on their own. Consequently, this might result in stagnation or force them to take courses that do receive subsidies in an effort to acquire any degree, since they are under pressure to do so in order to succeed in life. In conclusion, I am confident that it is in a country’s best interest to pay for the courses it finds necessary for the nation, disregarding the salaries that the graduates are going to receive.