When a country gets richer, cities often benefit more than the countryside. What problems can this cause, and how can we solve them?

It goes without saying the situation where a nation is developed equally between metropolises and rural areas is recommended. However, it is also true there is a tendency for many advantages to be focused on limited cities at the early stage of the progress. This essay will examine the consequences of the trend and explore several suggestions to solve the problem. To begin with, as cities get most of the advantages of the national prosperity, various social problems can be produced. Firstly, the quality of life of the citizens could be plummeted. As people gather to enjoy the convenience of developed technology, the level of the environmental pollution would get worse. In addition, they might face the rush hour during committing time or the noise of central cities. Meanwhile, the satisfaction of the residents in the rural areas could go down since they have limited access to cultural opportunities or the high level of a community supportive system including a guarantee of a basic standard of living. There are some solutions to encourage balanced development in all the districts. First of all, Key institutes like universities, and research centers could be relocated to the rural area, which will lead to transfer the employees or learners who will have to follow suit. By doing that, the demand for the district will be created and then, the economy of the region will boom. According to research conducted by the Korea Development Institute in 2022, the relocation of the central government complex into Sejong City increased the volume of the market in Sejong by 24%. In addition, to make progress in the countryside as well, a diversity of perks of living far from the metropolis should be designed to attract locals and visitors there. To conclude, as the merits of the progress in a society might be concentrated in big cities, it could result in the deterioration of people’s life satisfaction in both cities and the countryside. To deal with the problem, we can relocate some significant entities to rural areas which would bring about positive effects in rural markets or design the incentive structure for local people in the districts.