The number of obese children is growing over the past years. Some say that parents should be punished for letting their child becoming fat. Discuss and give your opinion.

The number of obese children in the world is growing continuously over the past years. Some say that parents should be penalized, because they allow them to become overweight. I disagree with this notion for the reason that parents are not always on the side of their children to guide them on the right foods to eat and such condition is hereditary in nature. Although children have been taught by their parents to eat the right foods, they still consume unhealthy foods, especially when they are outside home, wherein their parents are not there to restrict them. They consume processed food from convenience stores that contains high sugar and calorie. They also love to eat fast foods from restaurants like Mc Donalds, KFC and Burger King that are high in cholesterol. Furthermore, when they are with their peers, they will also take unhealthy foods being eaten by others. For instance, my niece often has candies with her and when I asked her why she is eating candy, she is always saying because her friends eat too. Situations like these are beyond the control of the parents. Moreover, recent scientific study shows that obesity can be inherited. If one’s parent or relatives are obese there is a chance he will be obese because characteristics are passed in the blood. For example, the mother of my cousin is obese and her son and daughter are also obese. They tried to reduce the weight of their children by giving proper nutrition but still they are overweight. In conclusion, parents should not be sanctioned of their child’s obesity because this is hereditary in nature and they are not always with their children to guide them in selecting the foods that they eat.