Some people think that Olympic games are exciting events that bring other nations together. Others say Olympics is a waste of money and the money could be better spent on other things. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today's world, some people believe that the Olympic Games help bring nations together. However, others think that the money used for the Olympics could be better spent on other things. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and provide my opinion. To begin with, the Olympic Games draw many international visitors. This provides a chance for them to meet and talk with local people and to appreciate the host country's culture. When visitors have a positive view of a country, it can help build good relationships between nations. For example, when Japan hosted the Olympic Games in 2020, many foreign visitors gained a high respect for Japan, which strengthened Japan's connection with other countries. On the other hand, the Olympics do not directly benefit society, especially the poor. The lives of poor people do not improve because of the Olympics; their situation remains unchanged. Therefore, spending a lot of money on organizing the Olympics can be seen as wasteful. This is why some people argue that the money could be better spent elsewhere. In my view, the Olympics do not significantly impact major global issues such as war or poverty. Moreover, some countries use the Olympics to compete against or tarnish the reputation of their rivals. Instead, the money used for the Olympics could be better used to help poor countries or address global problems. In conclusion, I believe that the money spent on organizing the Olympic Games should be used for other purposes, as the event does not bring significant benefits. Thus, it is worth considering whether the Olympics should continue to be held.