Film is a less important form of art than literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Films are the latest form of art as they began to become popular in the 19th Century and they exhibit a tremendous development in the technology, yet there is a popular belief that they are less important than literature and painting which exist from the archaic era. From my perspective, films have the same artistic value as writings and drawings. Certainly literature, paintings & sculptures have a much longer history than movies. They are also deeply rooted in the culture and that makes them a priceless representation of various eras. For example, literature of each century gives us an accurate description of life in those times. Paintings and sculptures have the same value. Needless to say they are the gold mines of information for historians and anthropologists. However, it is wrong to measure the historic and aesthetic value of an art form by the number of years it has been in existence. It is true that films are the newest form of art and entertainment. However, as like paintings and literature they also reflect the era in which they are made. They also showcase the growth of technology. What’s more films are intrinsically linked to literature and there are many film adaptations of classic literature. Another advantage that films have over other art forms is that they enjoy mass appeal. Actually, films reach a greater audience than books or other art forms. This popularity makes them a valuable form of art and a good medium for conveying socio-cultural messages. Better still, unlike a novel or a drawing; a film is a labour of love of hundreds of artists and technicians and going to the cinema is rated as the highest form of entertainment today. To conclude, I believe that films have the same artistic value as painting and literature. One cannot gauge the value of art merely from the number of years of history, they have; nor can one consider them less valuable just because aesthetic preferences differ.