Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

A technological improvement over the past few decades has altered the way people communicate with each other. Communication over a long distance and instant communication wherever someone is, has definitely been a big advantage of this improvement. In this essay I will examine how relationships have been affected by technology, and then I will assess whether it is a beneficial or detrimental development. Communication at a distance between people from different countries has made communication easier by different apps. For example, FaceTime allows kids studying overseas to communicate with each other, despite the distance separating them. This has actually encouraged parents to chat more with their children, as it is easy and convenient for communication. Nevertheless, sometimes, when you are on the street and there is an emergency due to which someone needs to find you, a phones provides a good medium to do so, as they can just text and call you via different apps, like WhatsApp. This allows people to communicate in a more speedy and convenient manner. However, due to the development of phones and other devices, people have started to spend more time ‘communicating’ with their phones. For example, you can actually observe that when a family come together for a meal, you can probably find the teenagers looking at, and playing with their phones. Face-to-face contact is gradually becoming less usual, as people are no longer willing to talk to others in person, but spend more time facing their phones.  In conclusion, interaction has made easier and more convenient due to the development of technology, like phones. However, it is also because of this, that people are spending less time talking to others face-to-face. Despite this drawback, technology generally has had positive impacts on the way we communicate over the past few decades. Therefore, it has had a positive impact on communication due to its convenience and ease.