Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal? Write an essay on it

It has been observed that the concept of euthanasia or mercy killing is becoming very common. Although a large sector of society is against the above phenomenon, however, some of them are in favor of it. I hold a balanced opinion in this respect. My inclination is elaborated in the ensuing paragraph with relevant examples. Euthanasia is sometimes considered as a pain relief for people. When a person is suffering from chronic disease giving him an adamant time and there is no remedy available for that disease. In that scenario, the person himself and the family members opine for euthanasia. They believe that this would end their suffering and provide them permanent relief. A pertinent instance of this would be the mercy killing of my friend’s uncle who had been lying in a coma for the last decade and there was no improvement in his health. His family was already in debt because of high bills generated by the hospital administration as a result they had to go for euthanasia. Their decision was correct, and in the above-mentioned case, euthanasia acted as a boon. On the other hand, we cannot neglect the drawbacks of mercy killing. Every person has a lifespan that no one should alter. Birth and death are natural processes that are controlled by nature we must not interfere with those processes. Some people can misuse this practice if it gets legal authority. A substantial example of this would be planned and intentional murders of the family members to acquire the property. Suffice it to say that it is extremely hard to manage euthanasia as it could lead to a rise in the crime rate. To recapitulate, I reiterate that despite having numerous benefits for society, especially for those who are having a hard time, euthanasia still has a bulk of demerits that cannot be neglected.