In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development.

Shopping is one such activity which was, and which will be always there. The way of shopping has changed due to globalisation in recent years. Nowadays, people prefer to shop from big stores or malls rather than the nearby small shops. This essay will discuss how this change in shopping pattern has both pros and cons. There are many merits of shopping from a large shopping centre. To begin with, earlier people have to go to different shops to buy items they required, but now they can find everything under one roof. There is no need of hopping from one shop to another to complete the shopping list. Nowadays, time has become an important constraint which people don’t want to waste so to save time they prefer to travel to supermarkets or big stores, for instance, Walmart, to purchase the items in their list in one go. Secondly, the local shops do not have much variety to choose from but in superstores or malls there are various shops for the same merchandise providing a number of varieties for shoppers to select. On the other hand, the shopping mall and big stores are constructed in farthest point of the city and it is mainly constructed in big cities, so it is not accessible to everyone while the nearby small shops are easy to access to everyone. The other demerit is people incline to buy unnecessary items in supermarkets after watching various products on display while a small shop keeps only the necessary items. To summarise, the local shops may provide easier access, but it cannot provide a plethora of options to customers.