Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it’s a waste of time. Discuss both sides of question!

Some would argue that art is an important course for children at school while others argue that it is not useful because it is a waste of time. I believe that art should be taught in school because it helps them to explore and develop their creative side more. On the one hand, it is thought that including subjects like arts and crafts in a school's syllabus is considered a waste of time because of the extra workload it places on the students. Students already have more demanding subjects to concentrate on such as Mathematics and Science. Furthermore, this makes the creative courses such as arts, music and drama to be neglected. For example, educational institutions in Nigeria, rarely focus on arts in their curriculum because of how demanding it is to study so many courses at once. However, I believe that it is necessary to also include arts and crafts in the school plan in order to have students that will grow up to become equally balanced indiviuals individual in society. On the other hand, arts should be taught to children in school at all educational levels because it allows them to express their thoughts, emotions, and feelings properly. In addition, these subjects enhance students ' critical thinking skills and enables them to solve problems more efficiently as opposed to, when they do not have these courses in school thereby causing a decline in their cognitive development and self-expression abilities. For instance, schools in the United Kingdom, have greatly incorporated arts and crafts in their curriculum and this is beneficial to their students. In conclusion, although some people think that it is unnecessary to be taught arts in school because it is a waste of time. I believe that creative subjects should be included in schools to ensure a well-balanced individual.