With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The population of the earth is not keeping pace with the amount of food produced, resulting in a worldwide food shortage. Under such circumstances, it is thought by some that using genetically modified food can resolve the crisis. I concur with this as genetically modified food offer more yield at a cheaper cost and in adverse climatic conditions. Firstly, the population of humans is increasing at an exponential rate leading to deforestation and more arid regions and consequently leaving less idle farming land and lower food production to feed more mouths globally. For instance, the WHO has predicted that 70% more food would need to be produced by 2050 to alleviate hunger problems. Genetically modified food is able to survive harsh weather such as heat and less moist soil and in addition, more resistant to bacteria and fungi, thus having a significantly higher crop yield. There are many people who feel that food shouldn't be tampered with and they refuse to consume these. However, food manufactured using such a process is often cheaper and therefore, affordable to the masses. Also, its nutritional values, as well as shelf life, can be elevated. Many people are not able to have access to food due to poverty or are suffering from malnutrition. This is evident from the fact that 56% of Africa's population are food deprived as they cannot afford it, leading to malnutrition in around 64% of the children. Laboratory produced food can aid the poor in having access to healthy food which is full of nourishment. To conclude, to combat starvation and the environmental problems resulting in less farmable land, genetically modified food can assist by producing more crops under the same conditions. It can also succour the destitute by providing nutrition-rich food at a lower cost.