People have different job expectations for jobs. Some people prefer to do the same job for the same company, whereas others prefer to change jobs frequently. Write about advantages and disadvantages of each view point?

In today's world, one's identity is often inexplicably linked to his or her profession. People have varied opinions and expectations for their jobs. Many prefer the stability of being in the same workplace for many years, while others like changing employers frequently. Though both approaches have their pros and cons, which I will discuss in this essay, in my opinion stepping out of your comfort zone is the ideal way to enjoy life. Firstly, spending years in the same profession can be monotonous. Working more than 12 hours in the same cubicle, same building 5 days a week for years on the end can get quite boring. A study conducted by the University of Denver in 2015 showed that employees who have worked for more than 15 years in the same company have a 25% higher chance of burnout compared to employees who have been employed for less than 5 years in the same company. An issue that arises is that of work quality. Spending many years in the same company decreases work output and makes people more lethargic. An internal audit conducted by Harward Industries recently found that for each additional year that a person stays in the company after 3 years, his/her work output drops by 5%. However, a steady workplace has a stabilising effect on the mental health of a person. Knowing that one has to travel the same route, meet the same colleagues and work in a familiar environment can be very comforting for many people. The constant anxiety of changing jobs can create mental havoc on an individual's psyche. Overall as we can see there are advantages and disadvantages to both approaches and one must choose what works best and suits them the most.