some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Considering discipline for those who break laws is a common way in order to prevent recidivism. While certain people claim that prison is the best way for offenders, I agree with those who believe that punishing should depend on how severe the crime is. On the one hand, choosing jails is a traditional approach to punishment. Supporters of incarceration claim that criminals should be deprived of liberty to avoid recidivism. Although annually the majority of people are put in prison, it seems not to be an essential plan since many crimes like rape or theft are still continued. I concede that some violations such as murder or rape, are deserved harsh punishment and the worst jails and penalties must be implemented. However, being sent to jail does not have any positive points for the community as there are not any training courses or workshops for changing antisocial behaviours in lockup. On the other hand, several individuals believe that if social activities as punishment for little crimes were substitute jails, it would be not only better for the community, but also prevent imprisoners from facing the hazardous situation of the cell. In other words, in many societies, the lockups for major crimes like murder are the same as ones for tiny felonies like a little theft. If a criminal did not possess strong and dangerous antisocial behaviours, it would be greatly beneficial to deploy them for community work like cutting the grass or helping elderly people in terms of shopping. Doing social activities by minor offenders may enhance rehabilitation and integration in public. In conclusion, although advocates of prison claim that sending to prison may be the best and the last step to punishment, I think regarding how crime impacts society and how severe it is, some social activities could be considered for tiny wrongdoings to avoid experiencing jail and having significant merits for the public