Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should, therefore, be dealt with by the government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, the concern for the degrading environment is at the peak. Some people believe it is possible for an individual to make a difference, while others feel it cannot be solved without authorities intervening in the matter. In my opinion, the government has an indispensable role in such matters. To begin, many believe the task of saving mother nature is tedious for a single person. But if we introduce minor alterations to our day-to-day activities, we could probably eradicate the detrimental causes to our environment. For instance, we can always bring along a recycling bag while shopping so that usage of the plastic bag would decrease. These will definitely help in minimising the air pollution caused by burning plastic bags. Thus, such actions of an individual could lead to a healthy environment. In contrast, to individual actions, the government also plays a vital role in providing checks to many such activities disrupting our ecosystem. Governments can impose stringent rules to be followed by its people. For example, usage of plastic bags should be completely banned in the country, and this can only be forced by authorities. These regulations require judiciary powers to implement which reside with the respective officials. For this reason, the government plays the cardinal part in a process of abolishing effects causing damage to nature. To conclude, environmental degradation is increasing at an enormous rate. These problems should be tackled with the collaboration of an individual along with governments. I believe the governments have a prominent role in resolving these issues.