The most important role of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples form your own knowledge or experience.

It is often believed that the primary role of science is to develop the way people live. I partially agree with this, for medical products lead to the improvement of public health regardless of other significant roles of science to preserve the environment. On the one hand, science should play a critical role in saving people's lives in the emergence of new diseases, making people more vulnerable to them. In other words, they are threatening the lives of millions of people, especially children and seniors, whose immune system is generally weaker than that of young adults. For instance,the pandemic of coronavirus in 2019 led to approximately 506000 deaths in Japan as there was no effective medical treatment at that time. Thus, science should be developed to produce medicines and vaccines to mitigate the severe symptoms of infected patients as well as prevent their deaths, which will make a significant contribution to increasing their sense of happiness and safety. On the other hand, progress in science should also be made in solving environmental problems, which it makes difficult for wild animals to adapt to. Indeed, the growing contamination of water should be immediately tackled by the increasing understanding of science, which allows scientists to detect and remove harmful chemicals in the ocean. Furthermore, the development of science will lead to various theories and hypotheses, making it possible for people to react instantly before some dangers arise. This is significant as several marine creatures are already dead such as tuna and squids due to exposure to highly toxic materials, which leads to declining biodiversity. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that science should be enhanced to promote the lives of people with a growing demand for medical products to cure unknown diseases. However, the escalating damage to the environment requires a more scientific understanding to prevent the contamination and deaths of innocent wild creatures.