Nowadays, many people have to work longer time, and they feel more stressful than before.Whatarethereasons?Whatcanemployersdotomaketheirlifeeasier?

Stressisabigproblemintoday’sworkplace.Whilesomestressisanormalpartofthe workplace,excessive stress caninterferewith theemployees’productivityand reduce theirphysicalandemotionalhealth.Thisessayshallanalyse somecausesofstressatthe workplace, andalsosuggestsomestepsthatemployerscantaketoreduceit. Thereareaplethoraofcausesofstressintheworkplace. Tobeginwith, excessivelyhigh workloads, with unrealistic deadlines, makes people feel pressurized. Similarly, insufficientworkloads, makespeoplefeelthattheirskillsarebeingunderusedandthis too may cause stress. Then there may be a lack of interpersonal support or poor working relationships leading to a sense of isolation. Moreover, there may be times when people are asked to do a job for which they have insufficient experience or training. Furthermore,stresscanbecausedbylackofjobsecurity, lackofcareeropportunities,or levelofpay.Itmayalsobecausedbybullying, orharassmentbymanagement, whichcan leaveemployeesfeelundervaluedandaffecttheirself-esteem.Lastbutnotleastapoor physicalworkingenvironmentsuchasexcessiveheat, coldornoise, inadequatelighting, uncomfortableseatingandmalfunctioningequipmentmayalsoleadtostress. Employers can take a lot of steps to cope with workplace- stress. To begin with, they should diagnose what is causing stress. If overwork is causing stress in the business, then they should try to reduce people's workload. They should ensure that their employees' targets are challenging, but realistic, and make sure that employees take their full holiday entitlement. They should check thatindividuals are well matched to thejobsthey'vegot. Fromtimetotimetheyshouldreviewpeople'sperformancesothat theyknowhowthey'redoing.Thentheywouldbeabletogetfeedbackfromtheirstaff aboutpotentialproblemsandidentifyanytrainingtheymayneed. Employers should also consider whether the employee should work fewer hours, or otherwisevarytheirwork.Ifanyoftheemployeesissick, theyshouldkeepintouch.If theiremployeehasexperiencedpersonalproblems, suchasarelationshipbreak-upor anillnessinthefamily, employersshouldtakeasympatheticapproachandifnecessary, enable and encourage the employee to seek further help through their doctor or a counselingservice. To sum up, stressat theworkplaceisanissue ofgreat concern.Unless theemployers take some steps to reduce the problem,it can reduce theefficiency ofworkers,which ultimatelyisdetrimentalforthecompany.