In some countries, the widespread use of the Internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advanced technology, people in modern society tend to study and work at home using online. Some insist that staying at home is harmful for studying and working, but I would argue that this has more positive effects on society and individuals. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages to telecommuting and taking online classes. To begin with, some students who do not have a self-discipline may find it difficult to continue to focus on study. This is because studying by themselves means that they always encourage them to keep studying as there could be many distractions outside the classroom setting. Therefore, many students could have difficulty maintaining their motivation. As a worker, there will be many collaborative tasks at work. Therefore, communicating through the Internet could be hard to share their ideas and discuss their mission. As a result, they could struggle to achieve their goals and it could cause a poor performance. However, I still believe that many benefits can be anticipated from the widespread use of the Internet. Since the technology has developed, many people can be available to have access to the Internet, regardless of time and a location. If some students want to take a famous lecturer’s class, they can attend this class on the screen. In addition, online classes are generally cheaper than in-class lecture. Considering that a majority of students put high priority on the cost, it is a better way to provide students with the different types of distance learning courses. Also, some employees find it easy to manage their time efficiently. Due to telecommuting, less commuting allows workers to save time and transport fees. Therefore, being ensuring extra time helps them to more focus on their work and to be creative. As a result, they can find a better way to make their career excellent. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I understand that there are some drawbacks of using the Internet for studying and working such as the difficulty of self-discipline and cooperation with others. However, because of the efficient management of time and money, I believe that this should be seen as a positive development.