Some people believe that our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold that our character traits are predefined through heredity before birth, so, changing them is simply out of the question. I do not completely agree with this notion because | believe genetic makeup is not the only determinant of human personalities. Together with heredity, there are other shapers of personalities, including culture and education. Specifically, cultural values affect the way people behave under certain circumstances while education acts as a foundation on which people build and develop their own set of personal traits. In certain contexts, the interaction between genetics and these factors might make a person alter his/her personality. For example, a person might be genetically predisposed to being shy and simple-minded, but living in a highly-interactive and well-educated community, such as in a cosmopolitan city, might lead him to be more confident and intelligent. In general, cultural and educational environments are the real keys to the personality change. Of course, the role of genes in the development of personality is undeniable. Many research findings suggest that most genetic traits that we have are emotional patterns, that is natural states that hardly changes throughout one's lifetime. For example, some people are naturally more fearful than others and even when they reach adulthood, they still have phobias and tend to avoid scary things, such as horror movies. However, as mentioned above, genes are not the only crucial factor in forming personality; therefore, it is unlikely that inherited personalities will remain fixed and stable throughout one's life. In conclusion, although genetic makeup has an immense influence on the development of personalities, this is not a sound reason to argue that our character traits will never change.