Some people think that it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport public system such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that money should be invested in roads and motorways rather than public transportation including railways and trams. I agree with this assertion for several reasons. It must be acknowledged that roads and motorways have been played an essential role in many people's lives and also becoming increasingly familiar to the general public. Many people argue that railway vehicles benefit people as they can hold a large number of passengers. However, these vehicles are restricted as they only travel on fixed routes to limited locations. Meanwhile, roads and motorways are far more flexible which offers passengers a range of adaptable routes and locations. Also, drivers can easily change the direction they want on these transport systems. Consequently, spending on transport systems including roads and motorways brings about a variety of routes and locations that adapt to human demands. Expenditure on roads also reduces traffic accidents and maintains the traffic flow. By enhancing features, such as traffic lights, warning signs and street lights, drivers will increase awareness of their surroundings which contributes to the decline in casualties caused by traffic accidents. Whereas, railways and trams just need a fixed amount of money to ensure they work and do not break down in the middle of the journey. Moreover, expanding the road benefits the economic development of the area, as it stabilises the flow of traffic and facilitates transport companies to promote the progress of distribution and the load of groceries. As a result, a range of advantages of spending on roads and motorways have been verified. On balance, although railways and trams are beneficial, the benefits of roads and motorways are by far trump it. Therefore, I strongly agree with the proposal.