Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that physical strength is more important than mental strength for success in sports. Although the first reaction to some people is to concur to such claims. Nonetheless, there are several reasons to refute this statement. In the following paragraphs, there are a number of perspectives to discuss this issue more in-depth. Firstly, the main reason to support my position is that mental strength is a key point to control a game. Take my favourite tennis player, Andy Roddick, for example, while he was young, he had the most powerful energy than other players. However, he had terrible emotional controls. Even he won the first two sets, he still could mess up if the competitor made him angry. From such examples, it demonstrates that psychological status could influence the result of a sports game. Also, another reason for my belief is that even one's physical strength was not at the best status, he could still win the match through his wisdom and experiences. For instance, one of the most admirable tennis players, Roger Federer, he was almost 40 years old. However, he won a match at the Australian Open for playing more than 3 hours. His competitor is much younger, Oviously, Roger beat him not because of better energy but better wisdom. Consequently, it can be said that psychology is the key factor of success. To conclude, it is not to say that other points of view are totally without merits. Nevertheless, the reasons I have presented could support the position of if you want to win a sports event, mental strength is more important than physical strength.