Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime today has become one of the most important issues in society. While some believe that putting criminals in jail is the best solution, others think providing them with better education and vocational programs is better. Although I accept that they should receive job training and education, I disagree that there is no need to bring criminals to prison. On the one hand, vocational education and training is good methods that can help criminals become better citizens. Firstly, education can change the attitude of wrongdoers positively. When educated, criminals will be aware that they should have not broken the law and also feel guilty of their wrongdoings. Secondly, because of lacking money, many people commit crimes like theft or robbery so vocational training can give offenders a chance to know more clearly about jobs such as tailor, carpenter so that they can find such jobs and earn a living after being released from jail. Therefore, this may lead to the reduction of the rate of crime committing. On the other side, incarcerating criminals is obviously must-have solution for certain crimes to protect the stability of society. Locking up the perpetrators in confined spaces can prevent more life losses. They might get some education and training, but still must be kept away from the community. Moreover, some types of criminals like homicide or aggravated assaults are more likely to have to accept capital punishment. Therefore, it is no use in trying to educate and train this group. Prison is the best deterrent to their actions. In conclusion, I think both incarceration and education and job training are good ways to deal with lawbreakers, but we should strive to find the suitable punishment for each crime to reduce the future harm and create a better society.