Some people think although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some believe that nations with longer working hours are more economically prosperous, others argue that extended working periods have negative social consequences. Although extended office hours can increase profitability for companies, they hinder employees' work-life balance and ultimately, lead to a weakened family structure. To begin with, countries with extended office hours tend to have higher Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and economic success. Undoubtedly, employees in these countries work for longer periods which results in higher yield production. For example, Japan and South Korea have notoriously long office schedules. Due to this, the employees are required for prolonged periods and this allows business to uplift their local economies which enables nations like these to have a competitive edge over the global market. While operating in service for a prolonged time can help the nation advance in the global race, however, these advancements often come at the expense of individuals' work-life balance. Although workers are able to finish more work, the companies' productivity deteriorates gradually, as the workers are under significant load and stress. Moreover, they are unable to spend time with their loved ones and this then leads to social isolation and weakened family structures. In America, both parents are required to earn in order to survive. In these families, children are not that attached to their parents when compared to Asian countries like India. Due to this, their children lack moral values and, communication of thoughts without contradictions becomes quite hard and this leads to hostile behaviour amongst them. In conclusion, I strongly agree that this approach brings negative consequences that definitely need to be addressed in order for the country to become economically successful. Additionally, providing optimal working windows allows them to interact with their families. This helps them to lower their stress levels while teaching the future generations moral values that are needed to run the nation.