Teachers in this modern era are unvalued by society than they were in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that education serves as a potential source of human development, self-fulfilment and happiness. Some people, if asked, would say that teachers in this modern era are unvalued by society than they were in the past. Others would argue that this question is double-edged due to plenty of factors involved. As far as I am concerned, I would like to side with the former view. In the following discussion, I am going to provide some evidence and examples to justify my point of view. First, everyone would agree that the number of teachers is increased so much in the last ten years because of the increasing number of universities and schools. As a result, society does not appreciate the teachers than in the past. A small example will give some light to this point. For example, I remember when I was in the second year in high school 14 years ago, there were five or six teachers in my school. Now, my little brother, who study in the same school, says that the school staff members of 15 teachers. This example illustrates that people nowadays do not value teachers because there are plenty of them. Besides, putting the discussion in a wider context, a further reason to advocate my propensity is that there are a host of sources of information available nowadays. In other words, students can get information from diverse sources, such as the internet, education programs on TV and so on. Thus, the role of the teacher is decreased today due to advanced technologies. To illustrate this point, let's consider the following example. My little brother utilizes his laptop to watch online courses on the internet, and he does not go to school. Moreover, he says that he does not need a teacher and has learned how to learn. This, in turn, provides us with an indication that teachers nowadays are not cardinal than they were in the past. On the other hand, some people argue that the role of teachers has not changed from the past to the present. They claim that students cannot study without a teacher. In this manner, society and government appreciate them. Such a position; however, should be taken with a grain of salt. This assertion is likely made under the assumption that teachers had the same effect on our society in the past and present, which in fact is not true. To sum up, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is clear that teachers were valued by society in the past than they are nowadays because of all the reasons mentioned above.