There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The housing crisis in some urban areas has caused critical consequences. Due to the recent event, there has been a popular assumption that the only source can tackle the problem is the government. I share the same perspective on the matter. The burgeoning number of people chose to settle in cities result in its being overpopulation at the time being is at an alarming rate. With more and more people rush into the cities every year in order to find jobs and study, the shortage in the real estate market is inevitable. Careful planning of cities is required to address the issue and obviously, only the government has the power to address this problem. In fact, in Canada, their government had restricted the ability to settle in big cities such as Toronto or Montreal, which had been proven to be effective. Overpopulation is not the only cause of this crisis. According to some recent research in social studies, it seems that people have the tendency of amassing their assets which include houses and apartments. The studies show that one in every 15 people possess more than a house, which is concerning in light of the circumstances. This is a matter that only the government can take action because of the fact that people have no choice but to abide by the laws. As a matter of fact, in Tokyo, the government of Japan has restricted the number of houses a person can possess. The aforementioned method has been in use for 3 years and it had made a marked progress in solving the housing shortage. To recapitulate, the housing shortage has caused several severe social problems. However, the government has been addressing the problem in effective ways