23.Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn the children into good citizens and workers rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

Education is extremely important for the physical and mental development of students. It's argued that the greatest purpose of schools is to help children to function as good members of society, while others believe that the focus should be on individual characteristics in order to discover unique features of a child. I agree with the latter statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, providing education in order to graduate students who will become useful for their country has merit. If young people are aware of the rules and laws in their nation, this leads to appropriate behaviours towards colleagues and other citizens in general. However, I do not think that this should be a priority of schools, because it will not bring an understanding to children about who they are and what they want to do in their life. For example, many Russian citizens discover their natural preferences and interests only when they turn thirty, just because in the past, many schools focused on civic education in order to develop patriotism, encouraging everyone to be the same as others. Additionally, it is essential to listen to the child's voice, supporting their natural needs, because this eventually will help discover their secret talents and unique abilities. By participating in play and learning experiences that students truly love, instead of pushing them to concentrate on skills and subjects which are generally approved by the government, learners discover the individual features that help them to decide what occupation they want to have in the future. For instance, one of the most famous musicians Elvis Presley was judged by educators for poor performance at school and being not able to achieve overall scores for passing exams. In conclusion, if the educational system is focused on creating productive employees and citizens only, people will lack their unique abilities causing disinterest in their work and even depression. Hence, it is vital to concentrate on child's needs and wants, in order to help them to become a confident individual who is free to make a choice about their future career.