Restricting air travel is the only way to prevent air pollution. Do you agree?

Some people believe that the only method to reduce the air pollution is to limit the number of flights. I do not agree with this viewpoint. In my opinion limiting the number of flights may reduce the air pollution to some extent; however, other measures such as regulating the use of various private modes of transportation such as motorized vehicles and creating awareness about the appalling effects of air pollution can be more fruitful. To begin with, it is undeniable that the airplanes cause air pollution as they produce a huge amount of carbon dioxide, which causes a lot of pollution in the atmosphere and leads to global warming. For example, it is estimated by Green Peace that up to 13,000 tonnes of CO2 are released into the atmosphere every year by planes, thus increasing the carbon footprint in the air. Although, it is possible to control this pollution by reducing the frequency of flights, it will not fully solve the problem, because the majority of pollutants in the air do not come from aircrafts and as such it cannot be considered the number one cause of air contamination. By contrast, the major cause of air pollution is the emission of poisonous gases from motor vehicles and factories. There are millions of cars on the roads and the vast majority of them run on fossil fuels which purpose the emission of dangerous gases. Factories also release obnoxious gases into the atmosphere and reduce air quality. Therefore, limiting the use of such polluting means of transport can be a better solution to mitigate the effects of air pollution. Also factories should be moved from cities to sparsely populated areas. Additionally, the state should educate people about the dangers of polluting the air that we breathe in and encourage them to use non-polluting modes such as bicycles and walking for short distances. In conclusion, although restricting the airways can lessen the air pollution, however, it is not a perfect solution. Pollution is caused by a number of factors and aircrafts are just one of them. Hence, restricting air travel is not the right solution to reduce air pollution.