Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that staying healthy is essential for each individual, therefore healthcare services should be run by governments and not by private companies. In my opinion, both sides of this argument have valid points, and in this essay, I will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of privatization of medical industry. The two main advantages of private healthcare are improved quality of patient care and a better working environment for medical providers. Firstly, the private hospitals are significantly less busy than the public hospitals. Consequently, if doctors and nurses can allocate more time for each patient, misdiagnoses-related harm rates would decrease and patients would be prescribed more person-specific treatments, rather than generic ones. Secondly, private healthcare ensures improved working conditions for hospital staff. Private institutions often have more resources and better infrastructure. For example, American Hospital, a private hospital in Istanbul, has many amenities for staff within the hospital building, where the doctors and nurses can rest during busy shifts. However, there are several disadvantages of relying on profit-making companies in medical industry. One major drawback is the exclusion of financially strained individuals from healthcare. This can lead to a situation where vulnerable populations delay or avoid treatment due to cost concerns. For instance, in nations without a universal healthcare system, preventable diseases often go untreated among the uninsured, leading to higher mortality rates. Therefore, creating a system where citizens hesitate to call an ambulance in order to avoid high hospital bills might not be a good strategy in the long term. In conclusion, although private health care can offer certain advantages, these are overshadowed by the risks of inequality, inaccessibility, and profit-driven motives that may not align with patient wellbeing. Therefore, public healthcare models should be prioritised to ensure equitable and ethical medical care for all.