In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

In today’s society, the elderly are increasingly confronted with signs of disrespect by the population. This essay will discuss the reasons behind that phenomenon as well as the inconveniences it could cause. The lack of respect can be explained by the negative feelings expressed by the younger generations towards the older ones, potentially leading to an increase in violent acts against harmless grandparents. One significant reason for the lack of respect towards older people is the perception that they are an economic burden due to their reliance on healthcare services. Teenagers and many adults believe that the health system, and other public services too, are overwhelmed because of the elderly. This belief fosters resentment and disdain. For example, a survey conducted by the Indian National Research Institute showed that more than 89% of Indian teenagers aged between 13 and 19 years disliked older people because they thought they overtook the country’s hospitals. Moreover, these youngsters also admitted to showing a lack of respect towards them. Consequently, the consequences of such disrespect can be severe. The animosity towards older people can lead to their social exclusion and even acts of violence. For instance, in 2023, the Brazilian Police Department reported more than 94 murders and 189 violent attacks against elderly individuals, all committed by those under the age of 25 who admitted to hating older generations and believing they should be excluded from society. To conclude, the growing disrespect towards older generations stems from negative feelings of anger and resentment. The phenomenon can have a severe impact on society, leading to social exclusion and even violent acts against the elderly. The possible solution might lie in education.