SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT PHYSICAL STRENGTH IS IMPORTANT FOR SUCCESS IN SPORT, WHILE OTHER PEOPLE THINK THAT MENTAL STRENGTH IS MORE IMPORTANT. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Among people, there are different opinions about what makes us have success in sports? Is it physical strength or mental power? I believe that mental power is much more important. In this essay, it will be more discussed this topic. To begin, it is obvious that in some sports we are lead to think that physical strength is the most important thing to have. A perfect example of this is the weightlifting competitor who has to spend a lot of time making their muscles stronger or building muscles, as they said, because their body or physical strength is directly related to how much weight they can lift. Otherwise, people also know that the way of athletes feel or believe positively how much they are capable to win or to conclude something is extremely important. As an example, there were situations in which athletes were ready for a competition, they had trained a lot their bodies. However, that stressful competition atmosphere made them anxious and nervous, consequently they failed. Or the opposite, they strongly believe that they could do it even if they were not the favourite, and they can win some competition. Finally, the majority of times is more about how we think about our capabilities, how mentally we are strong and consistent about what we can do than simply a body full of strong muscles. Our brain is responsible to make some synapses, which can make us physically stronger than we can realize.