Some people believe that humans should be able to use animals for their own benefit, while others argue that the rights of animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think humans have the right to utilize animals on their own profit, others, in contrast, defend animal rights. In this essay, both views will be approached and I will explain why in my opinion, every specie that lives on the globe is essential for the existence of the rest and consequently should be respected and protected. Those who use animals for their own benefit, on the one hand, argue that animals are used to investigate treatments to improve medicine and people`s health before they are applied directly to human beings. For example, surfactant was injected into mice lungs, proving its benefits, long before it could be used in newborns to cure respiratory distress caused by the immaturity of the respiratory system. Another argument put forward, is that animals are less evolved than humans, do not feel that much pain and do not deserve respect. On the other hand, those who think animals should be protected believe, as I, that animals, no matter their size or order in the food chain, have feelings and do feel pain, stress and deserve our respect and care. Another important fact is that nonhuman species are essential for the balance and equilibrium of nature. If mice, for instance, would become extinct, many birds would become pests and not only ruin the crops but also transmit diseases to humans, making the world inhospitable for us all. In conclusion, whereas many think animals should be used in our benefit as pharmacological laboratories do, I personally believe in animal rights. Nonhuman species have feelings just as we do, and are important for the maintenance of the world`s existence and survival. Every company around the globe should, therefore, consider animal rights before making any decision that could harm them.