One of consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that humans now tend to have a longer life due to the amelioration of medical care. Although this trend has some benefits, I would argue that there are more drawbacks. On the one hand, the increased life span of people has several benefits. The chief benefit is that people live longer gives them an opportunity to enjoy their life. The elderly who do not worry about their children or their work choose to live positively. For example, an American couple devotes the rest of life to travelling around the world and exploring exotic places where they cannot go when they were young. Another benefit is that older members can make profound contributions to the development of their own community. When they are free from work, they may have a different outlook on life around them, and they therefore may positively affect their ne ighborhood. a surrounding or nearby region neighbourhood For example, in Vietnam many clubs or charities founded by senior members ran many events or projects successfully such as “The older, the wiser“. On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of longevity are even more significant. Firstly, when governments pour a large amount of money into paying a pension for retired people, national budgets can be put in danger. This financial burden is also put on taxpayers when the number of those who are working is reducing. For example, in some countries with an aging population, such as Japan or China, employees can be taxed up to 50 per cent of their income. Secondly, as seniors are healthier than they used to before, they can linger on their working life. This may compound unemployment and crime among young people because experienced people will have a head start over juniors when it comes to job hunting. As a result, the number of the unemployed increases and some youths resort to committing petty crimes to support themselves and their family. In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of living longer outweigh the benefits.