In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days, they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What messages does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves? Give reasons for your answers.

Athletic events around the world have become a major attraction nowadays that gathers an enormous amount of attention. The message world athletes sent in the past were that of ‘doing your best’ or striving to do better, breaking records set by others. This now seems outdated and naïve as winners aim only to secure as much money as they can get or strive for publicity. The negative effects of this change in mentality, especially for the young, are many and also affect the sports themselves. If we look at the message sent to spectators, old and young alike, it is easy to understand why people these days only chase after the money. Athletes who are promoted into serving as role models for younger people seem to be teaching children the financial value of winning, not the spiritual satisfaction of competing. Success is all that matters. The end justifies the means as attempting to do something and failing leaves one solely with the result of failure and not with the taste of a challenge one has faced and fought bravely against. A person who does not win will be discouraged and not try again since the desired result -- being rewarded by others -- is not achieved. You become great only in view of how others see you, not in your mind’s eye. This inevitably has detrimental effects on athletic events themselves. Firstly, the increasing phenomenon of doping in all sporting competitions, shows that the motto “the end justifies the means” is devoutly followed by major athletes who surely do not need chemical substances to prove their worth. Secondly, unhealthy rivalry between athletes or even teams is the most obvious result of the way sports are seen. This rivalry is transferred off-court as well, and hatred between fans of opposing teams arises with the need to feel that they are on the winning side. All in all, sports has been smothered by the reigning spirit of the times, namely greed, and this has brought about negative messages that range from cheating with the use of violence as a means to satisfy the desire to win. Unfortunately, we are a long way from the lessons taught by the ancient Greeks, the most important of which stressed the co-existence of a healthy mind in a healthy body.