An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Proliferating use of digital instruments in educational institutes comes with a range of advantages and disadvantages. This essay disagrees that advantages are stronger than disadvantages because students are prone to misuse electronic devices rather than use it in a justifiable way. Briefing about the positive aspects of school students using these electronic devices, one evident point is that students do not have to carry different materials for several subjects they study in school. For instance, students study a plethora of subjects nowadays in schools. For them to carry books and supplies for all of those subjects is definitely arduous. Secondly, the Internet is undoubtedly one of the most significant developments in the past decades. These electronic devices come equipped with Internet accessing facilities. The Internet helps the student to access important extra information regarding anything. The Internet could be of great aid for students. On the other hand, talking about the disadvantages, first among them is the health hazard of using electronic devices would adversely affect the eyesight of the students. According to the recent trend more than 50% of the students below the age of 18 are getting affected by myopia at a very early age. Another reason would be the same Internet, which is advantageous for students has some serious issues with it. Several youngsters are not mature enough to know what is right for them and what is not. The internet is filled with pornographic content as well as some derogatory articles. This could adversely affect students while studying. In conclusion, though, there are significant advantages of using tablets and laptop computers for students. Still, in my opinion, school students are not mature enough to understand what is best for them. These devices can be introduced in student life in high school or maybe during their university lives.