In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents, but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss and give your own opinion.

The topic of love versus arranged marriage has become increasingly important in recent years. While some individuals choose their spouses themselves, others outsource this decision to their parents. This essay will discuss both cases before reaching a conclusion. Some people find their partners themselves which has its own benefits. They develop a deep understanding and trust in each other which helps them tackle the realities and hardships of marriage better, as opposed to an arranged scenario. Their expectations are also set right and there are fewer chances of surprises as compared to individuals marrying based on their parent's liking, in which case one can end up married to issues they did not sign up for, e.g. a drug addict or someone in extreme debt. However when selecting your own partner and falling in love before marriage becomes a norm, sometimes parties involved can become too afraid to commit at all. They always want to look for something better, and in the pursuit of getting to know their significant other as best as they can, they end up living together like a married couple without the commitment of marriage. Hence the process of getting to know the person can end up in unwanted pregnancies and delay in marriages. On the other end of the spectrum, when parents look for a partner for you, all contenders are ready to settle and get married, leading to less wastage of time. Furthermore, sometimes parents do know better and their age and wisdom can help them see things younger people may ignore. Yet, many times this can become a strict tradition and marrying by your own choice can be seen as shameful. This is the reality of the majority of families in Pakistan, which leads to people being forced into marriages. To conclude, choosing your own partner can flourish your marriage with a deeper connection, while depending on your elders can save you lots of wasted time and energy trying to find the perfect person. Both have their own pros and cons and either option is acceptable as long as the individual chooses the method themselves without any external pressures.