In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Parents nowadays have the option to send their wards to single-sex or mix gender schools and it is believed by some that children attending single-sex schools are at a disadvantage when it comes to future life as adults. In my opinion, I agree that children going to single-sex schools lose out on many key skills and experiences. Firstly, students attending single- gender schools do not get to have interactions with the opposite sex. This can result in challenges in the future when they have to work alongside people of the opposite gender in a team environment, in other words, they might face difficulties in properly communicating and interacting, which can have a negative impact on their performance as well as that of others. Moreover, this might be exacerbated if are working for someone of the opposite sex, since the lack of experience and understanding of the other gender might make it hard. Another point to consider as to why mixed gender schools are beneficial for children, is that they expose them to different viewpoints. Girls and boys think differently and they have varied perspectives on issues and handling scenarios, therefore, children in single-sex schools miss out on these opportunities to be involved in and gain an understanding of differing opinions. In life they will have to deal with people who have a different viewpoint, and due to a lack of exposure to such experiences, they will face challenges in dealing with such scenarios. As a result, this could also lead to marital issues and could turn into unpleasant situations. Therefore, early teenage interactions with students from the other sex will immensely help them in their future. In conclusion, even though parents these days have options to send their child to single or mixed gender schools, I believe there is a lot to be gained by enrolling their children in a co-ed school and the experiences will stand them in good stead later on in their lives.