In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The public health is tackled in different ways in many countries across the globe. Some nations provide healthcare for the populations with no charge. Others, however, do not have a public system capable to assist the citizens, unless they pay for the service. I deeply agree with the idea that the welfare provision is the government's obligation and healthcare system is part of it. As far as the citizens pay high taxes inlaid in many products and services, I believe that the provision of a public healthcare system is mandatory. Besides that, a country with good healthcare system is capable of diminishing social problems and increasing living standards. Thus, the construction of health facilities, vaccine programmes and medical follow-up should be afforded by the state, creating a favorable environment to social and economic development. Unfortunately, however, implementing a robust system which is able to deal with all the health problems of a population in a huge country is not easy and cheap. In my nation, for example, it is possible to see many failures in the national programme. Due the size of the country, there are an immense demand for the service and in many cases, the waiting queue is too long that people die waiting for the service. In addition, the system has to deal with corruption, which makes the quality of the service pretty much lower than in the original plan. To conclude, despite the problems that Brazil tackle concerning the national health programme, we can count on professionals who work seriously affording quality of life and safety for the population, thanks to the role played in this field by the state in providing such service.