More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that there is a growing trend in the number of students who decide to continue their studies at overseas colleges or universities. While I accept that this has both benefits and drawbacks, I would argue that there are more advantages than disadvantages. On the one hand, there are several serious difficulties that students may suffer when choosing to study abroad. Firstly, students might have problems with paperwork such as visa applications. For example, in some western countries like the USA or England, it takes quite a long time for students to receive entry permission and therefore, they could be exhausted or disappointed due to waiting time. Secondly, living away from home can be challenging because people may feel homesick and miss their families. Furthermore, the language barrier can cause difficulties in communicating and relating to other people and sometimes students may experience culture shock due to the difference of lifestyles. Finally, the living expenses and tuition fees are extremely higher than studying in a local university or college. On the other hand, I support the view that the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages. The principal reason is that foreign universities may provide better facilities and courses. They may also be more prestigious than universities in the students’ own country and have lecturers who are experts in their fields. Thus, students can expand their knowledge and gain qualifications that enable them to have better access to job opportunities. Another reason is that studying abroad can also broaden students’ horizons. In the new country, they will have to live and work with other people from various nationalities. Consequently, overseas students are exposed to different cultures, customs and traditions. Lastly, by studying at a college or university in another country, students will improve their foreign language because they have to communicate and use it regularly. In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of studying abroad, in term of better universities, better vision and great opportunities for future career, do outweigh the drawbacks.